#365 The last blog of the Year

So this is it.

Exactly one year ago I spotted a tweet from someone saying that they were intending to blog an image every day throughout 2014.  I hadn’t yet come up with a challenge for the year, so decided to go for it.  365 days later and it’s the day of the last blog. I  have actually posted 367 over the year as there were two today and another two-blog day earlier in the year.

I have to say, it’s been a far harder challenge that I thought it would be.

I remember waking up in a cold sweat one night, checking my watch (23:40!!) and realising that I had yet to post an image that day. Carole was still half asleep as I leapt out of bed and dashed down the stairs, reassuring her that there was nothing to worry about – I just needed to blog before midnight!

The first few weeks were easy enough as everything was new and un-blogged. By the time I reached April I could see this was a huge task ahead. It’s hard to get across how much pressure builds up each day, until I know I have ‘my’ image sorted out. We all have those days when nothing really happens. The days when you get up, go to work, come home, go to bed. How do you capture that in an image – particularly when those days  occur more often than you might imagine!

I’ve had great support from family and friends – many of whom have been the subject of images of the day!  Some days have been easy – such as the time a snake came to work!  Others have been less so – such as a particularly grey day recently.

There are loads of highlights from this year:

I turned 50 ( yes, I know I don’t look a day over 30 but it’s true!) and was treated to a wonderful few days away on Exmoor with my lovely wife Carole.  Going back to Lundy Island after so many years since my last visit was simply fantastic!

Carole and I celebrated our 10th Wedding Anniversary with a few days away in the New Forest – the upgrade to the room being a very welcome surprise for us! (That link is well worth checking, for a cracking pic of the kids!)

I completed my CIPD HR course with a great team, and learned that there is no need to be scared when confronted by a course where I am the only male!

I upped my running this year, mainly thanks to parkrun. I managed a PB of 21:53 at Poole, just a few weeks after completing the Bournemouth Marathon, raising over £500 for PLANETS in the process.

All things considered, it’s been a great year of images.  Thanks for being a part of it – be that as a subject, a reader or even helping me out with suggestions for the day.  I’ve had a blast, but it’s now the last day of the year and time to bring it to a close.

Have a great 2015, and if you want a challenge that will bring memories flooding back every time you look back on it – why not try an image a day for 2015?  😉

That's all folks!! Thanks for being a part of my Year.

That’s all folks!!
Thanks for being a part of my Year.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

