#340 The EnduranceLife CTS Dorset. There were hills involved.

What a beautiful sunny day! Just the sort of day to head to the coast and do a spot of….running.  That’s what plenty of people did today, including me and son Sam, with Carole there as much needed support and motivation – it was cold first thing and the two of us needed sorting out!

The coastal trail series are races of several distances, run at various sites across the Country by the team at EnduranceLife.  The Dorset series is set at Lulworth, and considering the place is surrounded by hugely steep hills it’s easy to see why all the routes are graded as Extreme.

We watched as Sam and the rest of the half marathoners headed off up the hill out of Lulworth, the stream of colour slowly making its way into the distance..

The half marathon gets underway...

The half marathon gets underway…

Only a short hill to start with!

Only a short hill to start with!

An hour later and then it was my turn. I was in the 10k – having vowed two years ago to never, ever do the half marathon again!  Turns out it was the right decision as I lined up with my still dodgy leg and the beginnings of a cold – 10km would be plenty enough for me today.

We set off, and for some bizarre  reason I found myself up with the leading pack! As everything seemed to be relatively in order ( I was puffing about as much as everyone around me!) I decided to stick with it and see how things worked out.  All went well until just short of two miles, when I got a sharp reminder from my calf muscle to stop being stupid. Darn!  It was only a short hit, but enough for me to listen and take it a bit easier.

The point where my calf informed that I should slow down. Happy to oblige!

The point where my calf informed that I should slow down. Happy to oblige!

That proved to be a wise decision as although the leg was a bit off with me, it held out relatively well considering the stresses it went through!

The Purbecks were simply stunning out there today, bathed in sunlight with a deep blue sky to set it off.

This is what it's all about.  Why wouldn't you want to run here?!

This is what it’s all about. Why wouldn’t you want to run here?!

Sam did really well again – and even enjoyed it. Stark contrast to the vow I had made two years earlier!

Sam coasting in for a great  finish time. I think I might know what to get him for his birthday next year...

Sam coasting in for a great finish time. I think I might know what to get him for his birthday next year…

So there we have it. A great day out at Lulworth, plenty of hills, lots of fun, stunning views. All that was left was the obligatory proud Dad & Son shot with the medals, before a trip to KFC was in order!

Same shot as last year, same again next year?

Same shot as last year, same again next year?

I should also add a quick note to also say well done to ALL the other finishers today, and particularly Denise, Nicola and Liz ( all of Poole parkrun fame).  Thanks also to Kev Day for the cup of coffee, and the toffee crisp!

Kev Day - Toffee crisp supplier.  Thanks Mate!

Kev Day – Toffee crisp supplier. Thanks Mate!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

