#234 Is that a lone sheep? Nope. It’s a deer.

Out for a short wander on a local site, I noticed what appeared to be lone sheep busily grazing in one of the fields. I guessed it to be a ram that was being held back from the ewes so didn’t give it much further thought….Until I got closer to it and it looked up.. It wasn’t a sheep at all, it was a white Sika deer hind!  I dropped down behind a clump of thistles, waited for her to settle, then slowly moved forward until I was able to get some pretty decent shots..

Sika hind. A lovely individual.

Sika hind. A lovely individual.

I did get quite close!

I did get quite close!

She knew full well that I was there, but by taking it steady and not rushing in I was able to gain her trust so that she was content to continue grazing while I sat about 10 yards away. When I had the shots I needed, I slowly backed away and left her to continue her grazing.

The bunch that I found out on the saltmarsh weren’t quite so accommodating though. Not that I fancied a slow crawl through the mud anyway!

This bunch hung around for a look, before drifting away into the reedbed.

This bunch hung around for a look, before drifting away into the reedbed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #234 Is that a lone sheep? Nope. It’s a deer.

  1. julelivesey says:

    How great to get so close to her.

Leave a Reply

