#172 Golden rings and Silver studs. Jewels of the heath

After a very warm parkrun this morning, I headed out to the heath in search of butterflies. Not just any butterfly though, my quarry was a colony of Silver studded blues. There were no more than perhaps 20 or so flying there today, and they are only on the wing for a few weeks each year.

Fortunately, I know exactly where to find them on the site, so was in amongst them pretty quickly. My first pic though was of a dragonfly. A real stunner of a Golden Ringed dragon – crackingly huge insects!

Gotta love these beasts!

Gotta love these beasts!

I did catch up with the silver studded blues, though they can be difficult to get a decent shot of, as they perch low down and often head down. This one was more obliging than most:

Male silver studded

Male silver studded

Throughout my wanderings, I was continually berated by a family of stonechats that clearly didn’t appreciate being ignored in favour of a butterfly! I took a pic to placate them, this of one of the youngsters.

Young stonechat -probably bored at having to listen to its mum and dad 'chacking' at me.

Young stonechat -probably bored at having to listen to its mum and dad ‘chacking’ at me.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

