#124 Orchids and raptors at Durlston

I had a pleasant wander around Durlston this morning.  I hoped to be able to find a basking reptile or two, and possibly some newly emerged butterflies on the wing.

What I hadn’t expected to find was such great numbers of Early purple orchids on the upper fields. They looked pretty impressive against the backdrop of cowslips.

Early purple orchids - a big old splash of colour!

Early purple orchids – a big old splash of colour!

I got some decent shots of a few bird species, ranging from an obliging chaffinch to very elusive whitethroat – with chiffchaff, dunnock, jackdaw and fulmar all joining them on the memory card of the 7D.  I didn’t bother with the buzzard, sparrowhawk or peregrine as they were all soaring quite high so didn’t really pose much a photography option.  Standing on the cliff path however, waiting for a fulmar to glide along – I heard a high pitched mewing. Slowly edging forward, and working my way through the long grass I was rewarded with the sight of a male kestrel on a ledge below me. It’s a pity that the grass got in the way of a completely clear shot – but I’m happy with all the same..

Kestrel, looking out to sea whilst clutching it's lunch. Just like being at a picnic!

Kestrel, looking out to sea whilst clutching it’s lunch. Just like being at a picnic!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

