#96 13 miles of weight loss!

I learnt a couple of lessons at the Taunton half marathon today.  There are two images today – before and after the run.

Before the race - looking forward to a good run..

Before the race – looking forward to a good run..

Lessons learnt:

1.  Taking on 13 miles with a sore throat and a cough is not going to be easy.

2.  It’s a good way to lose almost half a stone!

Today was the big day. Perfect conditions for the run, and despite my minor setback of having  cough and a sore throat I had high hopes of an enjoyable run.  It was not to be! I ran out of energy at around the 4 mile mark for some reason – and kept going through determination and rationing of my jelly bean stash!  I was taking on plenty of fluids at the water stations, yet never really felt comfortable.

I did get a bit of a shock when I checked the scales tonight.  Having spent the late afternoon recuperating and eating a big meal, I was still 6 lbs lighter than this morning!  It’s a good excuse for plenty of cake eating at work this week…

After the race, and just glad to have made it!

After the race, and just glad to have made it!

Ah well. There’s always next time for a PB..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

