#57 A day for reptiles

A sunny day. A day that I had booked as leave. Awesome!  Just needed to get my check up at the Dentists done and I was free to get out with my trusty camera..

Check up done, I was down on the seafront at Boscombe by 10am on the hunt for the wall lizards that thrive on the overcliffs.  Within a few minutes I had seen several – they are not a native species, but I like them. Easy to find, and great for photo opportunities.

Vertical walls? Not a problem if you are a wall lizard!

Vertical walls? Not a problem if you are a wall lizard!

Onwards to Upton Heath, in search of more reptiles…

I soon had an early Sand lizard, basking in the sun, tucked away from the wind:

Catching some rays... A sand lizard chillin'.

Catching some rays… A sand lizard chillin’.

Next it was the turn of my prime target every Spring. I can relax in my quest when I have bagged my first Adder.  It took until May a few years ago – that got really frustrating!

A male adder. Not quite as keen to be photographed!

A male adder. Not quite as keen to be photographed!

So, just two reptiles to go and I’ll have the full set for the year. Slow worm will be pretty easy, but I may have to wait a while for the first Smooth snake. Watch this space – that will certainly be an image of the day!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

