#51 It’s SNAKE time!

That’s right. I said snake.

I was working at our Poole offices today, so managed to fit in a lunchtime wander on Upton Heath. The sun was out so I was sort of hopeful that I might see a reptile or two.  A few common lizard scuttled around, but I was really pleased to see, and catch, this lovely grass snake that I found basking in a spot out of the wind. Cracking snakes that are definitely my favourite of the 3 we have on the heath – for their colours, their character and oddly enough, for their smell!  If you’ve never experienced the whiff from a grass snake, you haven’t lived!  Then again, maybe it’s just me that likes the smell…

Only February, yet the first snake in the hand already.

Only February, yet the first snake in the hand already.

It seems to have suffered some sort of damage to it's lower jaw. Will be interesting to see if we capture it again in the same area this year.

It seems to have suffered some sort of damage to it’s lower jaw. Will be interesting to see if we capture it again in the same area this year.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

