#33 Sorting out the Starling residence

It’s another two image day today.

I decided it was high time that I got up the ladder and cleaned out the starling nestbox. There is a camera in the box, and so far this year I’ve not seen an visits – whereas usually we get one roosting in there on winter nights. The roof had started to delaminate so maybe it was getting a bit wet and windy inside…

Fortunately, I made the wise decision to take the box down to clean it, rather than balance precariously at the top of the ladder. Fortunately – because as I cleared out the old nesting material and moved the camera cables, I came face to face with a HUGE False Widow spider! That would have been no fun up a ladder!  I’m no spider expert, but I’m quite sure it was mature female, and certainly the biggest False Widow I have ever seen – the abdomen was perhaps slightly smaller than a 5p coin across.  Can’t say I blame the starlings for staying away now! Anyway, the spider is now gone – relocated well away from the house. The nestbox is now clean, has a new roof and is all ready for the first viewings – hopefully by starlings and not a spider!

Mrs Spider - prone to keeping Starlings at bay..

Mrs Spider – prone to keeping Starlings at bay..

 

The starling box - complete with new roof and shiny new fastening (on the rhs)

The starling box – complete with new roof and shiny new fastening (on the rhs)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #33 Sorting out the Starling residence

  1. julelivesey says:

    Just so long as you didn’t move her well away in my direction!

Leave a Reply

